super clean turkey meatballs recipeA few weeks ago on my Facebook page I asked my readers what kinds of recipes they would like to see this summer. To say that the response was overwhelming would be an understatement. Many of you would like to see more Paleo recipes featured. Many of you would like gluten-free recipes. Some would like vegan and raw options. Some wanted straight up chocolate all day every day (Can you blame them?)

While I do feature recipes that fall into these categories from time to time, it does not represent what I cook for my family every day – which is what this blog is all about. I believe that if you eat really well (clean, whole foods) 80% of the time, then you can indulge the other 20%. Cupcakes will always have a place in my life. As will bread, pasta, butter, cheese, and red meat. Food is a very personal thing. People have very strong beliefs on what makes a good diet and how we should be feeding ourselves.  The recipes I give you represent the choices that I make.

I have to be honest, a few weeks ago a reader called me out for an excessive use of butter and it hurt my feelings. I was accused of not caring about heart health. Even though I already knew this deep down, I realized then that I couldn’t please everyone. I do care about heart health. I care a lot about the health of my family and of my readers. I know that not everyone eats the way I do; sometimes I give options in the headnotes of my posts.  For example, I may tag a recipe as vegetarian and suggest ways to adapt the recipe to that specific diet.  I guess what I am getting at is that I am not well versed in some of these ways to eat and I am okay with that. I will make mistakes and get it wrong sometimes. I can’t please everyone, so I am going to keep doing what I am doing. If a recipe calls for too much butter, skip it.  You won’t hurt my feelings.  These days, I do try a gluten-free or Paleo recipe every now and then, so if I find some good ones you know that I will share it with you.

I started to look into these specific ways of cooking and I realized that some of the best and most creative cooks on the Internet have blogs that feature these diets. I decided to compile a list of some of my favorite blogs. Categorized by type, some of these blogs overlap. If you are Paleo, you don’t eat gluten, and some whole living blogs are also vegan or raw. You see what I am getting at, right? If you have some time, check them out. I spent the afternoon perusing so many new-to-me blogs and cannot wait to try some new recipes.

For my 37th birthday, I treated myself to a signed copy of Gwyneth Paltrow’s new book, It’s All Good. The reviews poked a lot of fun at GP; some of the recipes are not really recipes, and some are a trifle elitist, but I really do like some of the recipes in this book. If you are trying to eat healthier or incorporate more whole foods into your diet, this is a great book to start with. I have made these meatballs once or twice a month since. They are simple and clean, and really flavorful. I always make a double batch and freeze some for another night.

super clean turkey meatballs recipePaleo Blogs:

Nom Nom Paleo – http://nomnompaleo.com/
Robb Wolf – http://robbwolf.com/
Whole9 – http://whole9life.com/
Everyday Paleo – http://everydaypaleo.com/
Rubies and Radishes – http://www.rubiesandradishes.com/
The Domestic Man http://thedomesticman.com/
The Primal Parent – http://theprimalparent.com/
Practical Paleo – http://www.practicalpaleo.blogspot.com/
paleOMG- http://paleomg.com/
Balanced Bites – http://www.balancedbites.com/
Food Lovers’ Primal Palate – http://www.primal-palate.com/
The Clothes Make The Girl – http://theclothesmakethegirl.blogspot.com/
The Fit Daffy – http://fitdaffy.blogspot.com/
Jen’s Gone Paleo – http://jensgonepaleo.blogspot.com/
Radiance Nutrition – http://radiancenutrition.com
Ancestralize Me – http://ancestralizeme.com/
Health-Bent – http://www.health-bent.com/
Mark’s Daily Apple – http://www.marksdailyapple.com/
Modern Paleo Warfare – http://www.modernpaleowarfare.com/
Multpily Delicious – http://www.multiplydelicious.com/thefood/

Healthy Living:
101 Cookbooks – http://www.101cookbooks.com/index.html
Sarah Wilson – I Quit Sugar – http://www.sarahwilson.com.au/
Naturally Ella – http://naturallyella.com/
Bran Appetit – http://www.branappetit.com
Chocolate and Carrots – http://chocolateandcarrots.com/category/food
Chocolate Covered Katie – http://chocolatecoveredkatie.com/
The Flourishing Foodie – http://www.flourishingfoodie.com/
Deliciously Organic – http://deliciouslyorganic.net/
Love and Lemons – http://www.loveandlemons.com/
Cookie and Kate – http://cookieandkate.com/
Family Fresh Cooking – http://www.familyfreshcooking.com/
The Clever Carrot – http://www.theclevercarrot.com/
The Nourishing Gourmet – http://www.thenourishinggourmet.com/
100 Days of Real Food – http://www.100daysofrealfood.com/
Sprouted Kitchen – http://www.sproutedkitchen.com/
The Healthy Apple – http://thehealthyapple.com/
My New Roots – http://www.mynewroots.org/
This Homemade Life – http://thishomemadelife.com/
An Unprocessed Life – http://anunprocessedlife.com/
The First Mess – http://www.thefirstmess.com/

Vegan:
Oh She Glows – http://ohsheglows.com/
Have Cake Will Travel – http://havecakewilltravel.com/
Vegan Yum Yum – http://veganyumyum.com/
My Kind of Life – http://www.mykindoflife.com/
The Lil Foxes – http://thelilfoxes.com/
Get Sconed – http://comesconewithme.com/
Bittersweet – http://bittersweetblog.com/
Manifest Vegan – http://www.manifestvegan.com/
Post Punk Kitchen – http://www.theppk.com/blog/
Jennifer’s Kitchen – http://jenniferskitchen.com/
The Kind Life – http://thekindlife.com/
Cake maker to the Stars – http://kitteekake.blogspot.com/
Fork and Beans – http://www.forkandbeans.com/
Olives for Dinner – http://www.olivesfordinner.com/

Gluten Free:
In Johnna’s Kitchen – http://injohnnaskitchen.com/
Roost – http://roostblog.com/
Gluten Free on a Shoestring – http://glutenfreeonashoestring.com
Tartelette – http://www.tarteletteblog.com/
La Tartine Gourmande – http://www.latartinegourmande.com/
Cannelle Vanillle – http://www.cannellevanille.com/
No Gluten No Problem – http://www.noglutennoproblem.blogspot.com/
Celiac Chicke – http://www.celiacchicks.com/
Simply Gluten-Free – http://simplygluten-free.com/
Aubergine and Butterbean – http://aubergineandbutterbean.wordpress.com/
The Bakig Beauties – http://www.thebakingbeauties.com/
Baking Backwards – http://bakingbackwards.blogspot.ca/
With Style and Grace – http://withstyleandgraceblog.com/
Gluten-Free Goddess – http://glutenfreegoddess.blogspot.com/

super clean turkey meatballs recipe1 small onion (sometimes I use a few green onions)
2 garlic cloves
6 fresh sage leaves
6 large basil leaves
4 sprigs thyme
1 large sprig of rosemary
1/4 cup Italian parsley
1 handful arugula or spinach
1 pound ground turkey (I like to use breast)
1 teaspoon sea salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper
3 Tablespoons olive oil
4 cups tomato sauce of your choice

super clean turkey meatball recipeHere’s a tip – to easily mince garlic in the food processor, drop them in through the funnel while it is running.

super clean turkey meatball recipeCombine the onion, garlic, herbs, and arugula in the bowl of a food processor. Pulse until very finely chopped.

super clean turkey meatballsTransfer to a large bowl and add turkey, salt, and pepper.

super clean turkey meatball recipeMix gently to combine.

super clean turkey meatball recipeForm into balls. I use an ice cream scoop to portion, then roll them with my hands.

super clean turkey meatball recipeHeat olive oil in a large nonstick pan. Cook in batches, until browned all over, about 3 to 4 minutes.

super clean turkey meatball recipeHeat the tomato sauce over low heat to warm. Transfer to simmering sauce to finish cooking, about 30 minutes. Serve over whole wheat pasta, zucchini, or on a salad. Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese if you like.

Super Clean Turkey Meatballs
 
Ingredients
  • 1 small onion (sometimes I use a few green onions)
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 6 fresh sage leaves
  • 6 large basil leaves
  • 4 sprigs thyme
  • 1 large sprig of rosemary
  • ¼ cup Italian parsley
  • 1 handful arugula or spinach
  • 1 pound ground turkey (I like to use breast)
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • ½ teaspoon pepper
  • 3 Tablespoons olive oil
  • 4 cups tomato sauce of your choice
Instructions
  1. Combine the onion, garlic, herbs, and arugula in the bowl of a food processor. Pulse until very finely chopped. Transfer to a large bowl and add turkey, salt, and pepper. Mix gently to combine. Form into balls. I use an ice cream scoop to portion, then roll them with my hands.
  2. Heat the tomato sauce over low heat to warm. Heat olive oil in a large nonstick pan. Cook in batches, until browned all over, about 3 to 4 minutes. Transfer to simmering sauce to finish cooking, about 30 minutes.
  3. Serve over whole wheat pasta, zucchini, or on a salad.

 

 

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...